Price Threefold, Chapter 12- Chloe

Domenic led the way down to the docks, with Jaz and Davin bringing up the rear. It seemed that after our brush with our Pairbond backlash, she’d become wary of us. I couldn’t blame her; I’d never seen how we behaved from the outside, but I was sure it looked bizarre at best. Her lack of education on Imbued meant she probably wouldn’t realize anything important. Davin’s weird blend of observant and clueless made him impossible to predict, however.

ConcernSupport ConfidenceFocus. Cecelia stepped just a little closer to me than necessary. “My power says we’re in the clear for now.” She grabbed the smallest tote bag containing our supplies for this working vacation of ours.

Domenic grunted as he lifted the biggest of the three bags. I was torn between feeling insulted that he didn’t let my superhuman strength take care of it, and finding his actions to be sweet and chivalrous. EmbarrassedLove.

I smiled. Okay, so sweet and chivalrous wins this round.

ReluctantFocus. Domenic pulled his mind away from that emotional loop, though he was slow to do so. “We’ll just have to be more careful in the future.” In other words, I need to stop being a baby. RegretDefend. Domenic hesitated for a moment. “You know I didn’t mean it like that.”

“But it’s the truth. I’ll try harder.” RespectSupport. I took a moment to bask in Domenic’s emotions. He remained one of few things in my life that I could rely upon, which haven’t betrayed me in some way. “Let’s focus on the mission, that makes it easier.”

We left the semi-private parking area and made our way down a staircase to the docks. I saw several boats, most filled with youngsters and wealthy families intent on enjoying their summer vacations. Ever since the Espada started their civil war in southeast Mexico a couple years ago, the tourism industry had exploded across the American seaboard. A detail which pleased my parents to no end. Until recently I thought it was just a question of economic improvement, now I wondered about more sinister motives.

SupportConcern. I took a breath. Nothing to worry about, just a stray thought.

Gawkers stopped to stare as we approached our ferry. For the most part, I’d gotten used to that, but they weren’t usually almost naked at the time. Domenic hesitated some; he hadn’t spent as much time out in costume as I had.

CautionRisk ContemptAmusement. Cecelia stepped forward, her body language the exact opposite of her approach with Jaz. She stood tall and walked like a queen, the way I’d seen my mother do so many times before. When she got weird fate powers from Mom, did it come with part of her personality?

No. Focus on the mission. I took a breath, then followed behind Cecelia, with Domenic now bringing up the rear. Unlike my partners, my mask didn’t cover my mouth, so I smiled as I walked, and looked at the various people. Some smiled back, but for the most part they stared at us as we passed.

Despite Wiki’s claims that Domenic and I were famous, few people here seemed to recognize us. It’s a tourist trap, most of these people aren’t from this state, of course they don’t know who we are. Since we didn’t seem hostile, they were happy enough to stare and check us out.

I wasn’t surprised that most of the men were more interested in looking at Cecelia than myself. More insulting was that I was losing to Domenic as well. Not just the women, that I expected, but more guys were checking him out than me. Whatever, they have powers they can use to look amazing, I’m stuck with what nature gave me and nothing more.

We didn’t stop walking until we were on the ferry, where I turned to look back. Jaz and Davin tried to in blend with the crowd behind us, though they were overdressed to sell the act. In any case, we seemed to have drawn any suspicious glances away from the siblings. I waved at the crowd, hoping not to look too lame in the process.

StupidAnnoyed. Behind me, Cecelia sighed. “If they wanted to hide, they should have pretended to be employees. No one ever notices the staff.”

As if to prove her point, the man attending the gate spoke. “The captain would like to see you in the control room right away, if it isn’t too much trouble.”

DiscomfortFrustration. Domenic shifted his bag, and his armor shifted to compensate. His bag’s not that heavy, is it? “That’s more than acceptable.”

Cecelia held her hand up over her mouth to stage whisper. “Bet you anything he’ll try to keep us there the whole trip, so we’d better take care of any business now.”

The concern on our greeter’s face served to confirm her accusation. “I wouldn’t want to imply you’re not welcome, but your presence could be distracting. We need to consider all of our guests.”

ContemptDisgust. I agreed with Cecelia, as I watched the man stumbled over himself to apologize. A grown man humiliating himself like that was cringe inducing at best.

RegretPity. “That’s better for us, actually.” Domenic took it all in stride. “We’re here for a quiet ride, that’s all.” He glanced around us to make certain no one else was in hearing distance, then leaned in toward the man. “When the other members of our group arrive, however, pretend you don’t know they’re with us. They’re not in costume.”

Our greeter visibly relaxed, now that he knew we’d cooperate. “Just walk to the front of the ship, and take the stairs up. The door is labeled.”

Poor guy. I smiled my best. “Keep up the good work.” I followed behind the others, hoping I’d made the man feel better the way my Dad would, but of us children, only Adam inherited his way with people.

In this situation, Dad would have laughed, maybe put an arm around the greeter or pat his shoulder or give a handshake, and say something about how he started as a working class man, himself. In spite of the awkwardness, the worker would smile and say some platitude. After we walked away, Mom would make some warning about not getting too friendly, lest he be seen as a buddy rather than the boss. Dad would say something which made Mom smile while us children cringed. From then on, the employee would be happy to see us rather than terrified. The scenario had played out so often through my childhood that all the examples ran together.

Our boat was small by ocean ferry standards, though larger than any river vessel. After finding out about the ferry, I did some research on the waters out here. It turned out we had a string of islands creatively named the Outer Banks, which shielded the mainland from the violence of the Atlantic like a coral reef. The island chain also served as a wall that big ships couldn’t cross, which forced shipping to go around the region instead of through. While there were bridges between the islands, we really would have had to drive another hour or more to get to our ship, and there wasn’t a lot of room on the islands for renting out a parking spot for a week.

Much like our walk to the boat, we got no small amount of attention as we went to the control room. I had to admit the captain made the right call in hiding us away from the passengers. If we’re so much trouble, I wonder why they agreed to ferry us in the first place? We made no secret that we’d be in costume.

Could be some kind of plot. SuspicionAlertReady. I picked up my pace, which put me ahead of Domenic by the time we got to the control room. Perhaps I didn’t get Mom’s powers or Dad’s charisma, but I had a decade of watching power plays using million dollar tokens. I was the one best equipped to deal with them if they did have some scheme.

I opened the door, then strode into the room. ImpressedDesire. Thanks Dom- ShockConfusion. Oh, that was Cecelia. Awkward. No time to think about it now. I looked around, then spotted the captain. He was younger than I expected, with dark features and sun tanned skin that could have originated from any Mediterranean country.

“Thank you for your invitation,” I said. “It’s been a while since I’ve had a tour of a ship.” Most people wouldn’t have considered seven months a long time, nor would they have considered a ferry to be a ‘ship’ in any real sense. More important than that, I’d set the tone of the visit to be one of special treatment rather than a polite isolation.

His smile was one of a man accustomed to getting his way. “Welcome aboard. I’m Paul, but I’m afraid I’m a guest, just like you.” What. “You’ll want to talk to Captain Cline.” He gestured toward an older woman in the corner that I’d overlooked entirely.

Rumor has it there is a man in the UK with the power to go back in time up to twelve seconds, once per day. I have never wished for any power in my life as much as I wish for that power. Or perhaps the power to make everyone forget I exist, that sounds good, too. “I’m sorry, ma’am.”

She chuckled as she stepped toward me. “Don’t be. It happens all the time when this scoundrel’s around.” Her voice was more youthful than the wrinkles of her skin led me to expect.

PreparedTrick AgreedAlert. The advantage of my Pairbonds was that, when we all our minds pushed in the same direction, we had a lot of brain to work with. They did this to put us off balance, which means we have to be on the top of our game. I stepped forward to meet the woman. The first stage to regaining control is admitting it was lost. “Still, it was rude of me to assume.”

In a way, it was not, given that the ‘guest’ was in uniform as a captain as well. My power supply dipped, as Cecelia invoked my energy as her own. HuntConfident NonthreatNormal. Cecelia had just run a check on how we matched in a fight against them, and found us clear winners. If they were Imbued, they weren’t of any consequence.

“Water under the bridge,” Captain Cline said. “You said you’ve been on a tour, before?” Now that I was close, I noted our captain was an inch shorter than I was.

Which means I have to work twice as hard not to underestimate her. Behind me, I could sense Domenic had his eyes on Paul, while Cecelia was alert enough to watch both. In the end, she had the skills and powers to Track people, while we did not. “It was an educational trip about finding sunken vessels, back when I was in high school.” I saw no reason to mention the trip was not arranged by the school, nor that I was still in high school.

Her smile held a tint of mischief. “And now you’re going on a sunken ship hunt of your own? Quite the coincidence.”

I shrugged my shoulders. “I prefer to think of it as turning luck into opportunity.” We didn’t tell her what we were doing. “After comparing notes about powers with my friends, I recalled some old memories, realized what we could do, and the rest is history.” If she wanted to accuse us of something, I wasn’t sure what it might be. Surely she didn’t suspect we had some way to control who got what powers. Aside being impossible, who would waste a power like that on hunting ships rather than saving or conquering the world?

“Turning luck into opportunity?” Paul said with a chuckle. “Hope you don’t mind if I steal that line for myself?”

Shit. That’s one of Mom’s favorites. She’s been quoted as saying it in papers, and now that people have connected her to Starfall- FocusConfidenceRescue.

“She stole it from me,” Domenic said. “And I stole it from some infomercial on starting your own small business.”

“That so? And here I thought nothing good came from infomercials.” I still didn’t trust Paul, but Cecelia felt confident we dodged any bullets this time, so I accepted that for what it was.

“Hey, while we’re here, you can pay me back by telling us some stuff about how ships work,” Domenic said. “I’ve always loved machines, though I’ve only ever worked with cars. Plus, you know how Gadgeteers get about learning new stuff.”

“I can’t say I’ve ever worked with a Gadgeteer before,” Paul said, turning his attention toward Cecelia. “But I’m more than willing to learn.” His smile was more flirty than it needed to be, or perhaps it was my own issues that made me think so. I let it slide; Paul had no way of knowing that the tall, curvy woman was in fact a shapeshifting fourteen year old.

IrritationProtective AnnoyanceRejection. Cecelia brought her hands up, to clasp them together in front of her chest. “That sounds wonderful. My girlfriend will love hearing all about it when I get back.”

“Of course. Well, let’s start with the basics.” Paul recovered well, though he couldn’t hide his disappointment from Cecelia’s senses. “Like most ships, we use diesel for most of our needs, though our engines are somewhat larger than you’ll find in your car.”

“I always thought Paul missed his calling when he chose captaining over engineering.” I turned my head toward Captain Cline, who I’d almost forgotten was there. “You, however, seem like you’re suited for command.”

Or you’re fishing for information with compliments. “Do you think so? I haven’t given it much thought.” Questions and noncommittal answers are the safest approach.

“I have a sixth sense for this sort of thing,” she said. “Nothing to do with powers, but I’ve learned to spot good captains through experience.”

“Thanks.” Despite myself, I meant it.

“Come, let me show you how I handle my job. Maybe you’ll like it, and even Imbued need day jobs, right?”

I glanced over at where Paul was still discussing the engines. Domenic and Cecelia can handle themselves. So can I. “I’d like that. I never turn down a chance to learn.”

The next hour was a blur, as Captain Cline spent all her time giving orders and micromanaging her ship. I felt confident that I didn’t give away any sensitive details to the captain, if only because she dedicated her attention to her job while all I could do was stand and watch. If her goal was to confirm I had no idea how to run a ship, then she succeeded.

We were well on our way before the excitement settled down to a dull hum of activity, but I had a new respect for the captain. Dad would have given her a compliment, perhaps his patented ‘I’d offer you a job, but I wouldn’t want to insult you’ line. I instead opted to stay silent.

HesitationRecognitionSurpriseSuspicion.

Next

One thought on “Price Threefold, Chapter 12- Chloe

  1. A/N- Minor edits for cleanup (and altering the exposition that isn’t needed anymore since in this version of the story I did it 10 chapters ago). I really do like the formative writing that has gone into these chapters, and how they expand on Chloe’s character especially… she wasn’t a blank slate in the first book, not by a long shot, but not much time went to showing how she was like when she wasn’t dealing with crisis both internal and external.

    Like

Leave a Reply

